NYSARH / Rural Health

2018 New York State Rural Health Award Recipients

The 2018 Annual NYSARH Conference, held at Greek Peak September 26th-28th, recognized Dr. Robert Delorme, Dr. Zsuzsa Meszaros of the Rural Academic Partnership, and Karen Madden for their dedication and service to their communities.

Once again, we congratulate our 2018 award winners for all of their efforts in raising awareness of rural health issues and for providing excellent rural health programming in New York State.

(From left to right, Dr. Robert Delorme, Dr. Zsuzsa Meszaros, and Karen Madden)

Dr. Gary Ogden Rural Health Practitioner of the Year Award – Dr. Delorme
The New York State Association for Rural Health is pleased to recognize Robert Delorme, MD for his health leadership in Southern Madison and Northern Chenango Counties with the Dr. Gary Ogden Rural Health Practitioner of the Year Award.

Dr. Delorme exemplifies the rural family physician in that he understands the multiple cascading challenges patients and providers face in receiving and delivering rural primary care. Whether it be medical or social issues, Dr. Delorme has taken a personal approach to medicine – being available at all times of the day or night to meet the needs of his patients.

Dr. Delorme believes that Community Memorial Hospital should continuously improve and evaluate. Thanks to his philosophy and hard work, Community Memorial Hospital has been able to open five Family Health Centers in rural communities and achieve PCMH NCQA Level 3 designation for all of them.

Outstanding Rural Health Program of the Year Award – Dr. Zsuzsa Meszaros
The New York State Association for Rural Health is pleased to recognize the Rural Academic Partnership under the leadership of Dr. Zsuzsa Meszaros, Director of the Residency Training Program of the Department of Psychiatry, SUNY Upstate Medical University (Syracuse, NY).

There is a severe shortage of psychiatrists serving rural communities. To remedy this, the Department of Psychiatry at SUNY Upstate Medical University developed a novel rural academic partnership that creates a relationship between residents and a rural host for all four years of their residency.

Participating partner organizations currently include Samaritan Medical Center, United Health Services Binghamton General Hospital, Oswego Health and Mohawk Valley Health System.

Senator McGee Rural Health Award – Karen Madden
The New York State Association for Rural Health is pleased to recognize Karen Madden, MA for her leadership in advocating for rural health on a national level.

Ms. Madden has been the Director of the Charles D. Cook Office of Rural Health since 2000. She was a member of the National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services from 2012 to 2015 and a member of the Policy Board of the National Rural Health Association.

In addition to the many accomplishments of her career, this award recognizes Ms. Madden’s critical role in the development of National Rural Health Day–November 15–with the National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply